[Image: The 2009-2011 Icograda Executive Board]
Above (l -r): Xiao Yong (China), Don Ryun Chang (Korea), Brenda Sanderson (Canada), Iva Babaja (Croatia), Jason Fan (Taiwan - Chinese Taipei), Grégoire Serikoff (France), David Berman (Canada), Leimei Julia Chiu (Japan), David Lancashire (Australia). Seated: Russell Kennedy (Australia). Missing: Omar Vulpinari (Italy).
04 November 2009

Icograda General Assembly 23 elects 2009-2011 leadership team

Montreal (Canada) - The 2009-2011 Icograda Executive Board elected at the Icograda General Assembly 23 on the 25 October has already begun to set its agenda for the term. On 29 October, the 10-person board met at the Central Academy of Fine Arts (CAFA) Art Museum in Beijing, China, for a day-long session.

Items for discussion included the creation of a standing committee to the board on sustainability, a new working group to steward the 10 anniversary update of the Icograda Education Manifesto, and the review of members interested in serving on the working committee who will further develop Icograda's aspirations for the future of the International Design Alliance.

The meeting was chaired by President Russell Kennedy, who becomes the first Australian to lead the Council in the organisation's almost 50 year history. Don Ryun Chang (Korea) becomes Past President.

Leimei Julia Chiu (Japan) becomes Icograda's first female President Elect. She will preside over the Council's 50 anniversary celebrations in 2013 when she assumes her presidency for the 2011-2013 term. Grégoire Serikoff (France) assumes the portfolio of Secretary General from Lise Vejse Klint (Denmark) who retired after two consecutive terms. David Berman (Canada) was re-elected to a third term as Treasurer. Iva Babaja (Croatia) and Omar Vulpinari (Italy) were each elected to a second term as Vice President.

New Vice Presidents who join the board are David Lancashire (Australia) who was co-opted to the board earlier in 2009, and will continue to coordinate the development of INDIGO; Jason Fan (Taiwan - Chinese Taipei), who will serve as the liaison between the board and the 2011 IDA Congress organisers; and Xiao Yong (China), who currently serves as a board member of CUMULUS and will facilitate collaboration between the two organisations.

Leimei Julia Chiu and Xiao Yong became the first candidates to be nominated from the floor of the General Assembly after the membership approved a revision to the organisation's bylaws, allowing for candidates to be presented from the floor. Chiu was nominated by AIGA (United States), while Xiao Yong was nominated by CAFA (China).

Five board members retire from their positions:
  • Jacques Lange (South Africa) completed his term as Past President. Lange served 8 years on the board, having first been co-opted in 2001 prior to being selected as President Elect in Nagoya, Japan
  • Lise Vejse Klint (Denmark) served two terms as Secretary General
  • Halim Choueiry (Lebanon) served three terms, having first been co-opted in 2003 before being elected Vice President in Copenhagen (2005) and then in La Habana (2007)
  • Mohammed Jogie (South Africa) completed a two-year term as Vice President
  • Min Wang (China) completed a two-year term as Vice President
Icograda is grateful to each of the retiring members for their dedication to the organisation and the leadership they provided during their terms.

View detailed profiles of the 2009-2011 Executive Board in the About section of the Icograda website.

For more information, please contact:

Brenda Sanderson
Managing Director
T: +1 514 448 4949, x 226

About Icograda

Icograda is the world body for professional communication design. Founded in 1963, it is a voluntary assembly of organisations concerned with graphic design, visual communication, design management, promotion, education, research and journalism. Icograda promotes communication designers' vital role in society and commerce and unifies the voices of graphic designers and visual communicators worldwide. The vision, mission and core values of the Council are collectively embodied in the statement 'leading creatively' and manifested through our Members' diverse activities to use design as a medium for progressive change.
[Image: Delegates with cameras from Icograda World Design Congress 2009 in Beijing]
Read the latest Icograda News.