[Image: Mervyn Kurlansky and Russell Kennedy, photo: Sean Teegarden]
Above: Mervyn Kurlansky (left) accepts the 2011 Icograda President's Award from Russell Kennedy (right). Photo: Sean Teegarden.

President's Award

Beginning in 1970, the Icograda President's Award has been presented on a biennial basis by the Icograda President. The recognition honours an outstanding contribution to the work of Icograda.

Recipients receive an engraved crystal trophy and framed certificate signed by the Icograda President.

Past recipients

1970 - Peter Kneebone
For his contribution to the SYMBOLS Commission and for his service as liaison for Icograda to UNESCO and Icsid.
1972 - Patrick Wallis Burke
For the design and editing of ICOGRAPHIC
1974 - Earnest Hoch
For services to the Standardisation and Unification or Typographic Measurement
1977 - Kenneth and Shelagh Adshead
For services to the Icograda Audio Visual Archive
1979 - Robert Vogle
For the organisation of the Icograda Congress in Chicago
1981 - Geoffrey Bensusan
For editorial services for the newsletter
1983 - Robert Blaich
For the promotion of the Icograda/PHILLIPS Award
1985 - Jan Rajlich
For services to the Brno Biennale
1987 - Susumo Sakane
For outstanding contribution to Icograda as Vice-President
1989 - Simon de Hartog
For outstanding services to Design Education
1991 - Mary V. Mullin
For the inauguration of the Icograda Foundation and the Friends of Icograda
1993 - Hiroshi Kojitani
For outstanding services to Icograda as Vice President and particularly as Founder Chairman of the Friends of Icograda
1995 - Marion Wesel-Henrion and J. Brian Davies
Jointly awarded for outstanding work for the Icograda Foundation and the organisation of the Poster Auction
1997 - ADG Uruguay
For the organisation of the Icograda Congress XVII and General Assembly
1999 - Federico Mayor
Director-General of UNESCO
2003 - Leimei Julia Chui
For her role in making VISUALOGUE: Icograda World Design Congress 2003 a success
2005 - Craig Halgreen
For supporting and sustaining Sappi's Ideas that Matter program
2007 - Guy Schockaert
For his tireless advocacy of professional design organisations and his commitment to Icograda

2009 - Pan Gongkai
For helping to redefine the direction of art and design education in China

2009 - Robert L. Peters
For his many achievements as a Board member and as a member of the founding executive of the International Design Alliance (IDA)

2011 - Mervyn Kurlansky
For his vision of the International Design Alliance (IDA) and his role in nurturing the alliance into reality
Kari Piippo (Finland)
Icograda Excellence Award 2010